Motorbikes Cars 4x4
Minibuses Vans / Trucks
good year bridgestone firestone michelin tyres Tyres Fitters in Essex Essex MOT Find out moreEssex MOT Find out moreSpecial Early Bird Discount Open Late

MOT CLASS TYPES at ESSEXMOT Garage Services - Testing Station

Classes I & II - (class I engine size up to 200cc)
Motor bicycles (under 200cc)
Motor bicycles / with side car (200c and over)

Class III - (up to 450kg unladen weight)
3 wheeled vehicles (Coming Soon)

Classes IV Cars (up to 8 passenger seats)
Motor caravans
Dual purpose vehicles
Public service vehicles (up to 8 seats)
Ambulances & taxis
Private passenger vehicles & ambulances (9-12 passenger seats)

Class V - (with more than 13 passenger seats)
Private Passenger Vehicles & Ambulances - 13 - 16 passenger seats

Class VII Goods Vehicles (over 3,000kg up to 3,500kg DGW)

When do I need an MOT test? Every vehicle in the UK needs to be tested each year to ensure that it complies with at least the minimum road safety and environmental standards. If you have a vehicle that is more than three years old, it will need an MOT test.

Under the VOSA requirements a MOT test will check the following components before issuing a MOT certificate.

Components tested during your MOT test are usually:
The MOT Test Check List • Vehicle Identification Number
• Registration Plate
• Lights
• Steering & Suspension
• Wipers and washer bottle
• Windscreen
• Horn
• Seatbelts
• Seats
• Fuel System
• Emissions
• Bodywork
• Doors
• Mirrors
• Wheels & Tyres
• Brakes

Your MOT Certificate Your MOT certificate confirms that at the time of the test your vehicle met, as far as can be reasonably determined without dismantling, the minimum acceptable environmental and road safety standards required by law. It does not mean that the vehicle is roadworthy for the life of the certificate and is not a substitute for regular maintenance.

Links of interest: